Holding Back

Alright. So lately I’ve been reading around the internet and a couple different things have been popping up that I’ve found kind of interesting because they apply to my life rather well. They focus on procrastination and developing your passion and a motivation to cultivate that passion. These tend to go hand in hand for me because when I procrastinate I don’t have enough time to develop my passion which for me is making music. This is a bit of a problem for me because I then end up completing homework at midnight the night before its due when I could have had it finished before dinner time and it just gets me really stressed out and its hard for me to relax ever. So anyways the stuff I found here and here presented some possible solutions that I’m going to be trying out as I end the semester here at MSU. One thing that was common between these was the fact that in order to stop procrastinating you have to focus on task at a time. One great way to do this is to limit or eliminate all distractions. This includes email, your phone, facebook (dare I say the entire internet?), anything that is not essential to completing whatever it is that you’re doing. Something that I found pretty interesting was finding that, for example, the people who are Rhodes Scholars and have done so much in what seems like no time at all, completed all these things one at a time. They didn’t try to do everything at once. It seems as if everyone is trying to do a million things at once and they never really get anything done. Then when people who have been able to accomplish a lot come along we are just amazed at how they managed to do it without killing themselves. Well now you know how. So how does that apply to cultivating your passion? Well it has everything to do with it. Take me for example. I consider my passion to be performing and teaching music. Unfortunately, I’ve recently been feeling like I don’t really have time to really do everything that I should. So one thing that I have to do in order to get where I want is to focus on doing just that and block out all of the distractions that get in the way. So what’s holding you back from doing what you want?

Leave a Reply

